Water for Elephants

Jag tror att jag har hittat en pärla. Min vän Anna som är en bottenlös källa att ösa ur när det gäller böcker, hade den på sitt skrivbord och bara titeln Water for elephants (Sara Gruen) känns som Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café eller som Guernsey’s Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Titeln andas något. Och jag vill läsa. Jag har bara börjat på den, men jag vet redan efter 26 sidor att jag vill gifta mig med den. Bröderna Benzinis spektakulära cirkusshow heter den på svenska. Allvarligt, asså.

”When you’re five, you know your age down to the month. Even in your twenties you know how old you are… But then in your thirties something strange starts to happen. It’s a mere hiccup at first, an instant of hesitation. How old are you? Oh, I’m – you start confidently, but then you stop. You were going to say thirty-three, but you’re not. You’re thirty-five. And then you’re bothered, because you wonder if it’s the beginning of the end…You go upstairs to fetch something, and by the time you get there you can’t remember what it was you were after. You call your child by the names of all your other children and finally the dog before you get to his”

Igenkänningsfaktormetern gick i taket här. Särskilt det där med namnen.

1 kommentar (+lägga till din?)

  1. Trackback: Film och bok i ett « lindasteen

Kommentera

